Bureau of Corrections

Browse over 66 requests from this government agency

No requests found.

About this agency

The Bureau of Corrections is an agency under the Department of Justice (DOJ), tasked to effectively rehabilitate and safekeep national prisoners sentenced to more than three (3) years, It was formerly called Bureau of Prisons when its main thrust before was safekeeping of national prisoners. In 1987, the Bureau of Prisons was renamed Bureau of Corrections under Executive Order No. 292 of the Administrative Code of 1987 to emphasize the shift in its primary goal from punitive to rehabilitative approach. Presently, Republic Act 10575, otherwise known as the Bureau of Corrections Act of 2013 which was signed on 24 May 2013, provides for the modernization, professionalization and restructuring of the Bureau. Bureau of Corrections maintains seven (7) correctional. 1.New Bilibid Prison in Muntinlupa City, 2.Correctional Institute for Women Mandalutong City, 3.Iwahifg Prison and Penal Farm Puerto Princesa City, 4.Davao Prison and Penal Farm Davao del Norte, 5.Sablayan prison and Penal Farm Occidental Mindoro, 6.San Ramon Prison and Penal Farm Zamboanga City, 7.Leyte Regional Prison Abuyog, Leyte

Make a Request
Agency Information Inventory

list of all available information